Work of Digital Art

In this digital age, we have the ability to bring inanimate objects to life through the power of digital manipulation.

Did you know that series such as Pingu, Wallace and Gromit and Shaun the Sheep are actually made from single photos of clay models, put together to create entire episodes? This is known as Claymation (Clay animation). It is the art of combining clay craft together with digital aspects to create the illusion of movement when the series of frames is played sequentially. The clay figures are moved in small increments between individually photographed frames, then combined together digitally to create TV shows as we know them.

Stop-motion photography (used in claymation) is definitely my favourite form of digital art. Here is my attempt a (very poor) stop-motion photography project, where I put 66 still photos together to create this little video of my piggy bank collecting loose change, all thanks to the program iMovie allowing me to bring inanimate objects to life.

 

 

References:

Visit England, 2015, Making of Shaun the Sheep Advert, April 10, Online video, Youtube, viewed 8 April 2016 < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPfSr-WbOrQ&ebc=ANyPxKof8nVrrM-PQmh6geuq3ECsiBhMWpXKa7YwGU5LnKHyUmTbqE0sVq95E8vvWa3w0mbDQ16OIcgyBvLQxE2r9CprShBrSQ&nohtml5=False&gt;

This entry was posted in BCM112. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Work of Digital Art

  1. Hi Danielle,
    I really enjoyed your blog post on digital art. Your explanation on Claymation was really clear and informative. I thought it was great that you related it to examples of TV series that I had watched when I was younger. This was a great idea as it made me really understand what you were talking about. It could of been a good idea to post a link to an episode of one of these series onto your blog just incase any of your viewers were unaware of the show. It was great to see your video of stop motion photography. I think you done a really good job and your explanation on how you created it was another great way to highlight claymation. Overall, I think your blog post and video was fantastic!
    Jess

  2. NHI NGUYEN says:

    Hi Danielle, your work on digital craft making is awesome. I’ve never thought about this kind of craft before and it interests me. Just a small question about the process you made it, how did you collect those pictures of different gestures and moves of the pig to create such an amazing work? I mean every photo has to have a slight difference and it’s very hard to find it on the Internet.
    I really enjoy your post! Keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

